top of page


International kids-tour Berlin

Young cyclists in Berlin since 1993


The founder of the international kids-tour is Jens-Holger Mey. His guiding principles are international understanding and a reward for the hard, tough cycling. 2 things more important than ever for our young cyclists.

Jens-Holger Mey's legacy is now represented by his wife, Mrs Dietze-Mey. She is looking forward to many more Kids Tours. (Impressions of kids-tour 2022 here.)

In 2020, 2021 the event was cancelled, at the beginning of 2022 the Berlin Cycling Association shut down the previous website, the kids-tour is to come to an end.

In 2022, the Berlins female team of the national cycling league Rad-Bundesliga Wheel Divas takes the reins of the International Kids Tour. The team obtains a court order to organise the event. The tour is a success. In 2023, the Berlin Cycling Federation revives the legal dispute. Wheel Divas cancels the kids-tour. At the end of 2023, the organiser Wheel Divas e.V. wins again against the BRV. Solutions are currently being sought as to how the most important junior cycling race in the world shines again in its glory.

A Top Junior Cycling Event

Internationale kids-tour since1993

For many years Jens-Holger Mey pondered over a bicycle race in Berlin and one for children. It was to be something special, something unprecedented, something unique: A lighthouse event.

In 1992 the format was fixed. In August 1993, the starting signal was given for what was then a unique round trip worldwide, a solitaire for our young cyclists. The finale on Berlin's Kurfürstendamm was no less spectacular than the arrival of the Tour de France on the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe.

1. Internationale kids-tour Berlin | Wheel Divas Cycling Team I Radsport Berlin

Poster 1st. Internationalen Kids Tour



Winners since 1993

The list of all winners of the International kids-tour since 1993

The organisation team was initially led by Jens Holger Mey and Lutz Fischbach with many supporters such as Michael Drabinski and later by Michael Lemke alone. The implementation was initially done with the help of a working group of the Berlin Cycling Clubs RV Berlin 1888 e.V., Schöneberger Radfahrer-Verein Iduna 1910 e.V. and the SVg Zehlendorfer Eichhörnchen e.V... Dietmar Silber designed the logo.

laura_belohvoscika_kids tour berlin - Radsport.jpg

The tour grew and with it the claim. As a result, the Berlin Cycling Federation became the financial sponsor, the beneficial owner. The organising team outside the Berlin Cycling Federation perfected the Tour year after year. The level of awareness increased, the starting places became rare. In many years the places were drawn by lot.

The organising team fought to keep the Tour going every year in an almost unchanged form.

More and more children came and went as winners. Young riders with today's big names such as
Pascal Ackermann, John  Degenkolb, Tadej Pogacar, Maximilian Schachmann oder Rick Zabel.

The list of winners is long, as is the response on television, in the press and on the internet.

Deutsche Welle at 1st Internationale kids-tour

5th international kids tour (FAB, television from Berlin) 1997

Deutsche Welle at 1st Internationale kids-tour

4. Internationale kids-tour Berlin 2016 Berlin | Karl-Heinz Wendorff

Junior cycling and elite promotion in Berlin since 1993

powered by:

bottom of page